The meeting was successful and the participants reached consensus. Here are the notes.

Logistics Information

Date: Feb 23-24, 2006

Location: China University Hong Kong

Here is a subway map of Hong Kong

Attendees:


Alain Durand <alain_durand@cable.comcast.com>
David Ward <dward@cisco.com>
Mark Townsley <townsley@cisco.com>
Bill Storer <bstorer@cisco.com>
Maria A. Dos Santos <mariados@cisco.com>
Chris Metz <chmetz@cisco.com>
Laurent Toutain <laurent.toutain@irisa.fr>
Florent Parent (Florent.Parent@hexago.com)
Simon Barber (sbarber@cisco.com)
Ed Koehler Jr <ekoehler@nortel.com>
Xing Li <xing@cernet.edu.cn>
Lee Farrell <Lee.Farrell@cda.canon.com>
Jordi Palet Martinez <jordi.palet@consulintel.es>
Spencer Dawkins <spencer@mcsr-labs.org>
Danny Mcpherson danny@tcb.net
Stewart Bryant stbryant@cisco.com
David Meyer (IAB) dmm@cisco.com
Ole Troan ot@cisco.com
ekoehler@nortel.com
Daniel Park soohong.park@samsung.com
Shu Yamamoto sy-yamamoto@cn.kddilabs.jp
Shin Miykawa mailto:
miyakawa@nttv6.jp

Hotels:

NOTE: If you do not want to book the hotel yourself and/or need help to do so,
please contact the chairs directly.

Recommended hotels are:

ROYAL PARK HOTEL (additional information)
TEL: 26943898
FAX: 26013666
ADD: 8 Pak Hok Ting Street
Shatin, N.T.
http://www.royalpark.com.hk/

REGAL RIVERSIDE HOTEL
TEL: 26497878
FAX: 26374748
ADD: Tai Chung Kiu Road,
Shatin, N.T.
http://www.regalriverside.com/mmm/regalriverside/en_US_main.html

HARBOUR PLAZA METROPOLIS
TEL: 31606888
FAX: 31606999
ADD: 7 Metropolis Drive
Hung Hom, Kowloon
http://www.harbour-plaza.com/hpme

REGAL KOWLOON HOTEL
TEL: 23138638
FAX: 27390670
ADD: 71 Mody Road
Tsimshatsui East
Kowloon
http://www.regalkowloon.com/

THE KOWLOON HOTEL
TEL: 27343874
FAX: 29292888
ADD: 19-21 Nathan Road
Tsimshatsui

Kowloon

------------------------

In addition, some information from the CUHK friend.

Here is a list of hotels. You can search the web to get the web page and check out their rates. I believe they are not too different (all roughly 3-4 star level). The main difference is location, hence convenience.  The top two hotel are in Shatin. The first hotel is specially convenient since it is close access to train to CUHK. The 2nd one is cheaper but you may need to take a taxi to CUHK.


These hotels are all preferred vendors for CUHK, so there is a CUHK rate  if booked through our office. I don't know how much difference is between the CUHK rate and the market rate. Our general office would not have the time to do booking for you on an individual basis. But if you can give us a  number of guests as a group, we can book for you.

In fact, I called Royal Park Hotel. Their CUHK rate is HK$700+tax. For a group of 25-30, they can give the rate HK$650+tax. If you can get all people  to agree to stick with one hotel, I think this is the best route. (Note the price may be a bit different if you don't quite have 25-30 people. Also the tax is 13%). This is the most suitable and convenient hotel for you.

------------------------

Tentative Agenda:

Thursday
--------------

8:30 arrival

8:45 Welcome & introduction

Seesion 1: 0900-1000.
What service providers people have deployed pre-softwire & special considerations for Hub and Spoke
15 min slot each.

0) Carl's kddi
1) Laurent's Point6 http://www.rennes.enst-bretagne.fr/~toutain/draft-toutain-softwire-point6box-00.txt
2) Florent Freenet6
3) Carl's  security


-- break 10:00-10:30

Session 2: Hub & Spoke candidates 1 & 2 10:30-12:00
45 min slot each

0) Jordi's ATS ftp://ftp.rfc-editor.org/in-notes/internet-drafts/draft-palet-softwires-ats6-01.txt
1) Florent's TSP http://www.ietf.org/internet-drafts/draft-blanchet-v6ops-tunnelbroker-tsp-03.txt

Session 3:-- lunch-- 12:00-13:30

Session 4: hub & spoke candidates 4 & 5: 13:30-15:00
45 min slot each

0) Bill/Alice: L2TPv2, L2TPv3

References {

RFC 2661 - L2TPv2
RFC 3931- L2TPv3
draft-ietf-pwe3-vccv-07.txt - VCCV for L2TPv3
draft-ietf-l2tpext-l2tp-ppp-03.txt - PPP over L2TPv3
draft-ietf-l2tpext-pwe3-ip-01 - IP PW Type
RFC 2867 - RADIUS Accounting Modifications for Tunnel Protocol Support
RFC 3371 - L2TPv2 MIB
RFC 3193 - Securing L2TP using IPsec
RFC 3948 - UDP Encapsulation of IPsec ESP Packets

}


-- break-- 15:00-15:30

Session 5 Mesh candidate 15:30 - 1700

0) Yong Cui


1) Chris Metz Mesh

References {

RFCs:
RFC2858 - Multiprotocol Extensions for BGP-4
RFC4364 - BGP/MPLS IP Virtual Private Networks (VPNs)
RFC4023 - Encapsulating MPLS in IP or Generic Routing Encapsulation  (GRE)

Internet Drafts:
draft-ietf-l3vpn-gre-ip-2547-05, Use of PE-PE GRE or IP in BGP/MPLS IP Virtual Private Networks
draft-ietf-l3vpn-bgp-ipv6-07.txt, BGP-MPLS IP VPN extension for IPv6 VPN

draft-nalawade-kapoor-tunnel-safi-04.txt, Tunnel SAFI
draft-nalawade-l3vpn-bgp-connector-00.txt, BGP Connector Attribute
draft-townsley-l2tpv3-mpls-02.txt, Encapsulation of MPLS over Layer 2 Tunneling Protocol Version 3 (expired)

}

Sessions 6 and 7: Group Social -

23 Feb : 6:30pm (2 tables for 12 each) at Chao Inn Restaurant

Friday
----------


Session 8: Hub and Spoke Meeting recap & analysis: 0900 - 1030

--break -- 10:30 - 11:00

Session 9: Mesh Scennario recap & analysis 11-12:00

--lunch-- 12:00 - 13:30

Criteria for Solution Set selection:

Suggested criteria for solution selection